top of page
Whatever It Takes Banner

Whatever It Takes is going on a blog tour with Rachel's Random Resources. If you wish to participate please contact me on with your name, blog name, preferred post type and availability. 

Whatever It Takes Cover

Whatever It Takes by Heaton Wilson


Genre: Crime fiction / police procedural

Tour Dates: 24th - 30th May 2021

Publication Date: 28th January 2021

Publisher: Matador

Standalone Second Book in a series

Estimated Page Count: 250

Formats available: Mobi, Epub, PDF or Limited UK Paperbacks

Types of post available: Reviews, Q&As and Limited guest posts and extracts

Purchase Link:

DCI Jane Birchfield is facing a series of personal challenges: a rocky relationship with her partner, her mum hardly talks to her; and her boss and mentor is critically ill, which means she is having to cover his post as well as her own. Then she has to take charge of the toughest of murder investigations.

Jamie Castleton is found dead, seemingly frozen in position at a computer in a grubby internet cafe in the Manchester suburb of Ashbridge. Enquiries reveal he was a self employed tech consultant and a computer expert, so what was he doing in there?

The more Jane and her team dig under the surface, the more the evidence points to one of Manchester's biggest companies, Greaves, and its super-wealthy boss, Graeme Hargreaves. This leads Jane into a sordid underworld, and a surprise twist in the investigation forces her to face up to an event in her own past, that she has kept buried for 25 years.

Slowly, but surely, the net tightens around the suspects, but can she stay objective, and can she keep herself, her team, and her relationship, together, and bring the killer to justice? For Jane it has become a personal crusade, but in this race against time there is far more at stake than she ever imagined.

About Heaton Wilson

I have been a newspaper journalist, a postman, a public relations officer, a consultant, an actor, a director, a playwright. And I have always kept writing.

I always felt I could write a novel. And I did! The first book in my crime fiction series featuring DCI Jane Birchfield, Every Reason, came out in 2016.  Whatever It Takes was published in 2021; and the third book (which follows on where Whatever It Takes ends) is nearing completion.

I'm from Manchester but now live on the Isle of Wight, where the sea is never far away. It's the perfect place to be creative, and to walk the dogs.

Follow Heaton Wilson

Heaton Wilson
  • Heaton Wilson Facebook
  • Heaton Wilson Twitter

Blog Tour Schedule

Maximum 3 stops per day.  Confirmed blogs will appear here. 

24th May

  1. My Reading Getaway

  2. Jessica Belmont

  3. B for bookreview

25th May

  1. @lucysbookclub

  2. Ginger Book Geek

  3. The Divine Write

26th May

  1. karenandherbooks

  2. @the.b00kreader (insta)

  3. The Crime Warp

bottom of page