The Lost Boy of Bologna Banner

The Lost Boy of Bologna is going on tour with Rachel's Random Resources, if you wish to participate please contacme on rachel@rachelsrandomresources.com with your name, blog name, preferred post type and availability. 

The Lost Boy of Bologna Cover

The Lost Boy of Bologna by Francesca Scanacapra

 

Genre: Historical fiction

Tour Dates: 13th - 22nd April 2022

Publication Date: 4th April 2022

Publisher: Silvertail Books

Standalone First Book in a new series

Formats available: Mobi, Epub and Limited Paperbacks

Estimated Page Count: 250

Types of post available: Reviews, extracts, guest posts and Q&As

Pre-order Link: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Lost-Boy-Bologna-Absolutely-historical-ebook/dp/B09TL4VCQT

Bologna, 1929. A newborn baby boy is abandoned by his desperate unmarried mother, who believes he is dead and that she is to blame. Heartbroken, she leaves her child, accepting that her actions will haunt her for the rest of her days. But unbeknown to her, the kindness of a stranger means the starving baby survives. And so begins the extraordinary life of Rinaldo Scamorza…

Following several years in an orphanage, where Rinaldo still holds onto the hope that his mother will come to claim him, he is entrusted to a heartless foster-mother who treats her charges as nothing more than financial opportunities. Yet amidst the cruelty and violence of this loveless environment Rinaldo meets fellow orphan, Evelina, and the two children create a bond which they believe will never be broken. 

Rinaldo holds tight to the few people who show him love, and he becomes a loyal, intelligent and kind boy. But his life is shattered when aged barely 13, Evelina is sold into prostitution by their foster-mother. 

As he grows up and becomes more resourceful, he finds work as an errand boy in a brothel, where he encounters Evelina once again. But in his efforts to help her escape her life of exploitation, another dark misfortune pulls them apart and she disappears. 

When at last Italy begins to emerge from the shadows of World War II and Bologna’s economy recovers, Rinaldo uses his intimate knowledge of the city to change his life for the better. But through everything, the successes and the moments of loneliness and misery, the women he yearns to see again – Evelina and his mother – are always on his mind…

Fans of Angela Petch, Helen Fripp, Dinah Jeffries, Rhys Bowen and Louise Douglas will adore this captivating historical novel.

About Francesca Scanacapra

Francesca Scanacapra was born in Italy to an English mother and Italian father, and her early childhood was spent in Bologna, the city whose rich history has been the inspiration for the Bologna Chronicles series of novels. Francesca’s adult life has been somewhat nomadic with periods spent living in Italy, England, France, Senegal and Spain. In 2021 she returned to her native country and back to her earliest roots to pursue her writing career full time. She now resides permanently in rural Lombardy in the house built by her great-grandfather which was the inspiration for her Paradiso Novels.

Social Media Links

https://twitter.com/FrancescaScana2

https://www.instagram.com/francescascana2/

Blog Tour Schedule

Maximum 3 stops per day.  Confirmed blogs will appear here. 

 

13th April

  1. What Cathy Read Next

  2. David's Book Blurg

14th April

  1. herbookhobby

  2. @penfoldlayla

  3. Jazzy Book Reviews

15th April

  1. Chez Maximka

  2. helen_t_reads

16th April

  1. books_on_a_hill

  2. Tizi’s Book Review

17th April

  1. Vickys_bookish_life

  2. Ceri's Little Blog