The Flame Tree Banner

The Flame Tree is going on tour with Rachel's Random Resources, if you wish to participate please contact me on rachel@rachelsrandomresources.com with your name, blog name, preferred post type and availability. 

The Flame Tree Cover

The Flame Tree by Siobhan Daiko

Genre: Historical Fiction

Tour Dates: 19th - 26th January 2023

Publication Date: 19th November 2022

Formats available: Epub only

Standalone Novel in the The Hong Kong Collection

Estimated Page Count - 300

Types of post available: Reviews (preferred) and basic promo / spotlight posts

Purchase Link: https://mybook.to/TFTHK

Based on a little-known true story, from award-winning author Siobhan Daiko comes a tale of love and survival against all the odds set in Hong Kong at the start of the Pacific War.

In the spring of 1939, dashing young William Burton and the beautiful Constance Han set sail from London on the same ocean liner to Hong Kong.

Romance blossoms while they enjoy games of deck quoits and spend sultry tropical evenings dancing under the stars. Connie is intrigued by Will’s talent for writing poetry, and she offers to give him Cantonese lessons to help him with his new job— a cadet in the colonial service.

But once in Hong Kong, Connie is constrained by filial duty towards her Eurasian parents, and their wish for her to marry someone from her own background. She can't forget Will however and arranges to meet him in secret under the magnificent canopy of a flame of the forest tree—where she fulfils her promise to teach him to speak Chinese.

Before too long, trouble looms as Japanese forces gather on the border between Hong Kong and mainland China. Will joins a commando group tasked with operating behind enemy lines, and Connie becomes involved in the fight against local fifth columnists.

When war breaks out, they find themselves drawn into a wider conflict than their battle against prejudice. Can they survive and achieve a future together? Or do forces beyond their control keep them forever apart?

Perfect for readers of Dinah Jefferies, Ann Bennett and Victoria Hislop.

About Siobhan Daiko

Siobhan Daiko is a British historical fiction author. A lover of all things Italian, she lives in the Veneto region of northern Italy with her husband, a Havanese dog and a rescued cat. Siobhan was born of English parents in Hong Kong, attended boarding school in Australia, and then moved to the UK—where she taught modern foreign languages in a Welsh comprehensive school. She now spends her time writing page-turners and enjoying her life near Venice. Her novels are compelling, poignant, and deeply moving, with strong characters and evocative settings, but always with romance at their heart.

Follow Siobhan Daiko

Website: https://siobhandaiko.org

Book Bub: https://www.bookbub.com/authors/siobhan-daiko

Siobhan Daiko Author Photo
  • Siobhan Daiko Twitter
  • Siobhan Daiko Facebook
  • Siobhan Daiko LinkedIn
  • Siobhan Daiko Instagram
  • Siobhan Daiko Pinterest
  • Siobhan Daiko TikTok
  • Siobhan Daiko Goodreads
  • Siobhan Daiko Amazon

Publication Day Premium Package Schedule

Capacity per day as shown. Confirmed blogs will appear here. 

19th January

  1. Celticlady's Reviews

  2. Christian Bookaholic

  3. InsomniacBookwormBookreviews

  4. JoJo's Over The Rainbow Blog

  5.  

  6.  

20th January

  1. Captured on Film

  2. fiction_vixen18

21st January

  1. Tealeavesandbookleaves

  2. C L Tustin -Author

22nd January

  1. Pickled Thoughts and Pinot

  2. Beckie Writes

23rd January

  1. Lyndas_bookreview (IG)

  2. Lisa Loves Literature

  3. Bootsie’s Book Nook

24th January

  1. QuirkyBookReads

  2. Being Anne

25th January

  1. Jaffareadstoo

26th January

  1. Jane Hunt Writer (jolliffe01)

  2. Inspiredbypmdd

  3. The Intrepid Reader and Baker