top of page
The Clarks Factory Girls at War Banner

The Clarks Factory Girls at War is going on tour with Rachel's Random Resources, if you wish to participate please contact me on rachel@rachelsrandomresources.com with your name, blog name, preferred post type and availability. 

The Clarks Factory Girls at War by May Ellis

Genre: Historical Saga

Tour Dates: 9th -15th March 2024

Publication Date: 9th March 2024

Publisher: Boldwood Books

Formats available: Netgalley Widget

Standalone First book in a new series

Types of post available: Reviews only

Can love blossom in times of trouble?

Life-long friends Louisa, Jeannie and Kate are following in the footsteps of their families, working at the Clarks shoe factory.

But when Britain declares war on Germany, the Somerset village of Street is shaken to its core. The Clarks factory is at the heart of life in the village, but the Clark family are Quakers and pacifists. Before long, there are fierce debates amongst the workers and tensions between those who oppose the war and those who believe the village men should go to fight.

Each of the girls must decide her own position but as brothers and sweethearts leave for France, Louisa is relieved that her sweetheart Mattie, a Quaker, who won’t be signing up. But she’ll soon find that they face fierce opposition at home as well as across the Channel.

Will the girls’ friendship be enough to keep them together, as everything around them falls apart?

A heartwarming and gripping new saga series perfect for fans of Elaine Everest and Rosie Clarke.

The Clarks Factory Girls at War Cover

About May Ellis

Alison lives in Somerset, within sight of Glastonbury Tor, volunteering at her local library and for the Alfred Gillett Trust (custodians of the Clark’s archives). Her first book, a contemporary romance, was published in 2014. Since then she has had five more novels published, including another romance and a YA time travel adventure. Her current series, based on the factory workers at Clark’s Shoes was inspired by her move to the area and her love of social history (and the treasure trove in the archives!).

Follow May Ellis

  • May Ellis Facebook
  • May Ellis Twitter
May Ellis Author Photo

Blog Tour Schedule

Maximum 3 stops per day.  Confirmed blogs will appear here. 

9th March

  1. Rachel Brimble Romance

  2. Leanne bookstagram

  3. karen_loves_reading

10th March

  1. Staceywh_17

  2. jen_loves_reading 

  3. mycornishbookshelf

11th March

  1. Is This Mutton

  2.  @mrsbookburnee

  3. ​​@teaandbooks90

12th March

  1. Bookish Jottings

  2. @Leona.OMahony 

13th March

  1. Ginger Book Geek

  2. Just Katherine 

14th March

  1.  The Comfy Chair

  2.  Jenny Kane

15th March

  1. Christian Bookaholic

  2. Novel Nerd Blog 

bottom of page